• Bangalore
  • Chennai
  • Pune
  • Hyderabad
  • Delhi-NCR

What is ITIL?

ITIL, an acronym for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is a framework designed for businesses to enhance its efficiency and perform at identified service levels, by standardizing the selection, planning, delivery and support of their IT services. Through the ITIL framework, IT is no longer a back end support function, but is instead a service partner to the business.

IT is directed by ITIL guidelines to align and modify its activities and costs in line with business requirements and conditions. For a company to adopt and maintain ITIL it requires certified experts on its IT team to guide it with the best practices.

History of ITIL

When data centers were decentralized in the 1980’s, their flexible, distributed and diverse a architectures created inconsistencies that deterred optimal performance. Recognizing this problem and anticipating the growth of IT as a service, the UK government set in motion ITIL to incorporate consistent and standardized practices through the IT service life-cycle. Experts from the private and public sector were involved in identifying, assimilating and establishing the best practices for ITIL.

5-Stage ITIL Lifecycle

The 5 stages of the ITIL lifecycle are:

  1. Service Strategy – focus on the needs and requirements of the customer, and improving IT strategy and structure in the company
  2. Service Design – Converting service strategies into implementable Service technology.
  3. Service Transition – create, validate, and deliver renewed and innovative services to the customers
  4. Service Operations – manage daily care and maintenance of services
  5. Continual Service Improvement –identify and manage service improvements

Benefits of ITIL Certification

The certification brings a number of benefits for companies and individuals.

Individual Benefits:

Higher Remuneration: In the US, an ITIL certified Program Manager earns an annual salary of approximately $120,000, which is almost 40% higher than a Program Manager who is not ITIL certified.

Set up For Success: Companies are queuing up to implement ITIL and your certification is going to be in demand, big time!

Refine Skills: The best practices of ITIL hone your skills and improve your focus on project and the ability to execute efficiently.

Corporate Benefits:

  • Appropriate use of experience and skill
  • Enhanced ROI
  • Avert or reduce redundancy in the project
  • Control IT costs
  • Increase productivity
  • Improve customer experience and satisfaction

Objectives of ITIL

Persons that are ITIL Intermediate certified will have developed competencies in the following:

  • Manage and control Service
  • Application of concepts and activities of Service
  • Knowledge of principles and process management of Service
  • Coordinate and control technology of Service
  • Analysis and justification of implemented services, its challenges, risks and success factors.

Eligibility and Prerequisites

Persons that have knowledge in providing IT services to any organization can take up the certification course. The ideal candidates for ITIL Intermediate certification are CIOs, CTOs, IT Managers, Team Leaders, IT Architects, IT Consultants, Security Managers, and persons in similar IT positions in companies.

Candidates should pass the ITIL Foundation certification as the only prerequisite, before being ITIL Intermediate certified.

Different kinds of ITIL Intermediate certifications

There are 9 varied ITIL Intermediate certifications that cover various aspects of the 5 stages in the ITIL lifecycle. The ITIL Intermediate certifications are:

  1. SO (Service Operations)
  2. ST (Service Transition)
  3. SS (Service Strategy)
  4. SD (Service Delivery)
  5. CSI (Continual Service Improvement)
  6. OSA (Operational Support and Analysis)
  7. RCV (Release Control and Validation)
  8. SOA (Service Offerings and Agreements)
  9. PPO (Planning Protection and Optimization)

Exam and Certification

Candidates need to have minimum 28 hours training from an ATO (Accredited Training Organization) prior to attending the exam for ITIL certification. The exam, governed by EXIN, APMG and CSME, has a different exam fee for each governing body. It is an online closed book exam with 8 questions of 5 marks each. The pass mark is 28 out of 40 marks, or a 70% score.

If the exam is to be retaken, the candidate must resubmit for exam registration and pay the fee for re-appearance.